Blog Post

HomeBlog Post
Five Pillars of Islam


Five Pillars of Islam

Allah created the whole universe and living beings on earth, to follow the commandment of Allah. It is a misconception that the religion of Islam came into existence only after the prophet Muhammad (saw). The commandments of Allah have been completed with the prophet Muhammad (saw). Now no prophet will come with the teaching of Islam. The world has witnessed a number of a prophet from Adam to Muhammad (saw), all came in the world to tell humans about Islam. And about to worship none other than Allah. Moreover, every child on the planet earth is born as a Muslim, follower of Islam.

What is Islam?

Islam is an Arabic word that means Peace. But the religion Islam means “Submission to the will of Allah.” Islam is the way of life or the right path for every human being on the planet earth, which leads towards salvation, and towards Allah. People who submit themselves to the will of Allah are called Muslims. The ultimate aim of Muslims is to do the righteous deeds, which can be helpful to agree with Allah and the final destination of Muslims is Jannah (heaven). Muslims are bestowed by Allah with five deeds, which help them achieve salvation and to lead a respectable life on the earth. These are called the Five Pillars of Islam.

Prophet Muhammad (saw) said, “Islam has been built on five [pillars]: testifying that there is no deity worthy of worship except Allah and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah, establishing the salah, paying the zakat, making the hajj to the House, and fasting in Ramadhan." (Bukhari & Muslim)

From the above hadith, it is clear that there are 5 Pillars of Islam- giving Shahadah, that is God is one and prophet Muhammad (saw) is the messenger of Allah followed by Salah, Zakat, Fasting, and Hajj.

Shahadah - It is the primary and most essential criterion to be a Muslim that you believe in only one God, none other than Allah. And Prophet Muhammad is the last messenger of Allah, that no prophet will come in the world to teach about Islam.

Salah (Prayer)- It is mandatory for every Muslim from the age of puberty to offer Salah five times a day.

  • Fazr (before dawn)
  • Zohar (Mid-day)
  • Asar (in the mid of noon and sunset)
  • Maghrib (just after the sunset)
  • Isha (at the beginning of the night)
  • These five times Salah every day is obligatory for every Muslim.

    Fasting- Fasting in the month of Ramadan is mandatory for every adult Muslim, in which Muslims fast from dawn to dusk.

    Zakat- It is an obligatory charity for those Muslims who earn and save after their need.

    Hajj- It is only mandatory for those who have enough money to visit Mecca. It happens in the month dhul-hijjah when Muslims make a pilgrimage to the city of Mecca.

    Children should start the prayer, Salah, from the age of seven, and it is instructed to parent to be strict for Salah when their child reached the age of ten. Remember, whenever a child does good deeds in the way of Allah, it is not only beneficial for the child but his or her parent too.

    Get the next-generation prayer education tool, that teaches the second most important pillar in Islam

    Sajdah helps children and new Muslims learn & memorize the Quran,  practice prayer; through visual and immersive smart learning prayer platform. In this era, technology is being used as a powerful tool in the learning process. We can also use it for benefits in religious education. Here comes, Sajdah a smart, innovative next-generation prayer rug for children and new Muslims. Please visit and sign up, to know more about Sajdah